Chickadee Stitches

DaGMT January 24, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — chickadeestitches @ 5:58 pm

I came across this wonderful idea as I was perusing the “Mad About Patchwork” blog–It’s called the ‘Drop and Give Me Twenty’ (DaGMT).  The DaGMT has been launched by “Quilting Hottie Haven” and is meant to encourage well-meaning/would-be quilters to commit to quilting/sewing/fabric choosing/pressing, etc for a certain amount of time for each day in February 2013.  Its hoped that with this time unfinished projects can become finished projects; unstarted projects can become started projects and (what I’m hoping for most) unlearned techniques can become part of a regular quilting repertoire.

I am a novice quilter.  I made my first (and only) quilt in November 2012–a simple rag quilt.  I’ve since joined the Craftsy Block of the Month Club (the 2012 version with Amy Gibson) and have ordered the fabric to start it.  I loved Amy so much, I immediately signed up for her own 2013 Block of the Month “Sugar Block Club”.

With this in mind, I commit to spending at least 20 minutes a day in February 2013 to conduct quilting-related activities in order to start and complete the quilt top for the sampler quilt Amy Gibson teaches on Craftsy.

My first quilt:  "Ooh La La" by Pillow and Maxfield for Michael Miller

My first quilt: “Ooh La La” by Pillow and Maxfield for Michael Miller

Wish me luck.  February is going to be CRAZY busy.  But I think I’m going to love it.

 

8 Responses to “DaGMT”

  1. I’m so thrilled you will be joining us! I can’t wait to see all you get done! Do you mind shooting me an email with your name, though? 🙂 It doesn’t appear to be on here anywhere and I want to know who to send prizes to should you win one! Thank you! (evapaigequilts@charter.net)

  2. Hi! I’m going to be doing the DaGMT as well, so I’m looking forward to Feb. Hopefully yours won’t be TOO crazy.

    Do you have a pic of your finished quilt? I’d love to see it!

    • Hi Jennifer! Thanks for writing. I checked out your blog and I cannot believe the amount of projects you have on the go! I’ll be really looking forward to seeing what you get done. As for my finished quilt, I do have a pic–I’ll post it as soon as I figure out how. I’m new to this blogging business too. Take care.

  3. Melissa J. Says:

    WELCOME … I am also doing the DaGMT. Looking forward to seeing your completed quilt and welcome also to the wonderful world of fiber and quilting.

    • Wow. Thanks so much for writing! I’ve heard that quilters are a friendly bunch, you all are proving it’s true. Good luck in sorting out which projects you will finish, toss or repurpose! I big job, I bet.

  4. kimr Says:

    My first quilts were rag quilts also! I have yet to finish any of the pieced quilts. I signed up for that BOM class last year also. Is her Sugar block on her blog or on Craftsy? Good luck with DaGMT–I am playing along also!


Leave a Reply

