Chickadee Stitches

Getting ready for DaGMT January 27, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — chickadeestitches @ 7:36 pm

I’m scurrying around like mad trying to get a sewing project done prior to February arriving.  I have a wonderful friend who has a side business as a henna artist (she goes by the name of “Ottawa Henna Lady”).  She is amazing, and I wanted to make her a fantastic apron to protect her clothes and provide her with pockets for cash, henna cones, cell phone, etc.

I design my own aprons, but I really wanted something that had a full collar to help take any strain off her neck as she was working.  Since I’d never created or even sewed something like that, I though it would be safest to go with a tried and true design.  I found an absolutely adorable design called the ‘Retro Chic’ apron by Sugar Pie Chic.

Anyway, I’m having to change a number of things in the pattern to make it work for her.  Firstly, I wanted this to be double sided so that if she has a spill she can quickly switch it up and start fresh.  Secondly, she needs a lot more pocket space, so I’m adjusting the pockets in the front to be long and a deeper.  However, I’m also wanting to add inseam pockets as well so she doesn’t have to worry about losing anything.  Thirdly, I’m not able to find the giant and jumbo rick rack the pattern calls for, so I have created a contrasting double-fold bias tape that I’m hoping will do the trick.

I want to make it all work so she ends up with the most fantastic apron ever.  Wish me luck.  Last time I checked, I only have 4.5 days before DaGMT starts.  She deserves to have this apron before March!

 

Leave a Reply

