Chickadee Stitches

Okay, so the next few days have to be better, right? February 4, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — chickadeestitches @ 1:37 am

February 3.  Day 3 of DaGMT.  I’ve got so many UFOs completed and out of the way.  I’m feeling so productive and invigorated…er, well, no.  Not really.

I actually have nothing accomplished, though not for lack of trying.  I have been waiting anxiously for my fabric to arrive so I can start my quilt.  I’ve ordered it from the other side of the country, and it’s on its way, but they took over two weeks to just get it in the mail.

February 1:  I sit down to do my very first 20 minutes of DaGMT sans fabric.  No problem, I say:  I’ll cut out the templates and have them ready in advance.  I’m going to cut these babies out and make enough copies for the project.  Yeah, sure.  I realize, not too far in, that my printer has not printed them to size.  I’m under by just over a quarter of an inch on everything.  I realize I’m going to have to print these out on a different printer, likely not till Monday.

No problem, I’m not discouraged.  I have been working on little placemats so I finish the quilting on one of them that I had started a few days earlier.

February 2:  A couple of girls are going to come over.  We haven’t been together for at least 8 or 9 months and we’re going to catch up while crafting.  They arrive, we talk, eat yummy food, go up into my sewing room, and talk some more.  The only ‘crafting’ that’s done is me showing them my drawers of fabric and explaining how I made double fold bias tape.

After they left, I reviewed a couple of tutorials for making binding for the above mentioned placemat and picked out my fabric, sewed it together, folded it and shut everything down for the night.  Not too productive.

February 3:  I look up instructions for attaching binding.  I watch twice.  I stalwartly enter my sewing room, knowing I’m going to finish this placement.  Today.  Yeah.  Today.

I square up the placemat, and I follow the instructions for binding.  I get down to where I need to attach the two ends, ie, the critical point and out of curiosity, I take a look at the mitred corners the tutorials showed me how to make.  I fold over the binding, and…well, I CAN’T fold over the binding.  I’ve sewn it wrong.  I’ve sewn it down so it won’t fold over on all but one corner.  Wow.  I also realize that I haven’t made my binding wide enough by about a half an inch.  I rip it out, think about choosing another binding fabric, but decide to walk away while I haven’t sewn anything to my fingers or something.

Tomorrow will be better, yeah?

 

8 Responses to “Okay, so the next few days have to be better, right?”

  1. UGH! Some weeks are like this, but persevere! You can do this!

  2. Melissa J. Says:

    Look on the up side – you have gone into your sewing room every day! For some that is MORE than half the challenge!

  3. Judy Says:

    Hang in there! Time spent learning from our mistakes is not wasted, and we’ve all experienced those frustrations. Just take a deep breath and try again. ❤

  4. Sharon Says:

    I hope you are sticking with it! There are days – heck, weeks! Where EVERYTHING I touch in my Girl Cave goes to heck in a handbasket and I spend more time bonding with my seamripper than anything else. I have to say that for joining binding I use The Binding Tool (just google it!); one note of caution – you have to be able to leave a 12″ opening on your bound edge to use it. Also, for fantastic binding results check out Sharon Schambers video – it’s called Binding the Angel; I think there are two parts. She uses Elmer’s Washable School Glue and gets beautiful results.

    Keep moving forward!


Leave a Reply

